Displaying items by tag: Fiction


Saturday, 23 January 2016 17:29

Happy Mardi Gras, sweet friends!

Raise your hands and scream and shout. I'm about to "throw you something!"

WHY: Because I'm SUPER excited to welcome readers into the magical, mystical world of Louisiana. THE FEATHERED BONE launches TUESDAY, Jan. 26!

WHAT: In hopes of sharing my love for my home state, I've compiled family recipes pulled straight from the pages of THE FEATHERED BONE. I've also added behind-the-scenes stories about my own Louisiana childhood and the beautiful culture that sings my soul. This special offer is yours FREE when you pre-order THE FEATHERED BONE! In Louisiana, we call this Lagniappe (a little something extra) from my heart to yours.


1. Pre-Order THE FEATHERED BONE from ANY bookseller by Monday, January 25.

2. Email your receipt to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we'll email you the digital pdf file of the cookbook.

TIP: But please HURRY because this special bonus offer ends JANUARY 25!

PLUS: In Louisiana, we believe the more the merrier. So please tell your peeps to join the party!

Laissez les bon temps rouler! 



What are booksellers saying about THE FEATHERED BONE?

  • Okra Pick 2016
  • Ingram Top Pick 2016

What are reviewers saying about THE FEATHERED BONE?

  • Library Journal Starred Review
  • RT Reviews 4 1/2 stars and Top Pick
  • Official Pulpwood Pick 2016

Hungry for More?

Thanks for reading!



When Mountains Move Wins 2014 Carol Award

Tuesday, 30 September 2014 21:30


Amanda Bostic and Julie Cantrell
Amanda Bostic and Julie Cantrell

This weekend, I traveled to St. Louis, Mo. to join nearly a thousand folks for the 2014 Carol Awards Gala.

When Mountains Move had been shortlisted as one of three finalists in the Historical Fiction category, alongside two extraordinarily talented authors: Liz Tolsma for Snow on the Tulips (a stunning WWII tale), and Diana Wallis Taylor for Claudia, Wife of Pontius Pilate (a fresh look at this historical icon).

I was stunned (to say the least) when Millie’s story was selected. The Carol Award was formerly known as “ACFW’s Book-of-the-Year Contest” before being renamed in honor of editor-extraordinaire, Carol Johnson.

What an honor it was to join so many talented authors who were being recognized for the LONG hours and HARD work they have put into building works of fiction.